What are the TXDOI continuing education requirements for RESIDENT Adjusters?
TXDOI requires adjusters domiciled in the State of Texas to complete 30 hours of Continuing Education within their 2-year licensing period. Two (2) of the total 30 hour requirement must be completed in Ethics/Consumer Protection course(s).
To be in compliance with TXDOI requirements, all CE must be completed by 11:59 PM on the day before the actual license renewal date.
Resident Texas adjusters that adjudicate Worker’s Compensation claims in Oklahoma are required to take 6 hours of CE in Oklahoma Workers Compensation Act.
What are the TXDOI continuing education requirements for NON-RESIDENT Adjusters that have designated Texas as their home licensing state?
Residents of another state that do not license adjusters (example VA, KS, TN, etc) and who have designated Texas as their home licensing state, are subject to the same 30 hour CE requirements as Texas Resident Adjusters.
What are the TXDOI continuing education requirements for NON-RESIDENT Adjusters that have NOT designated Texas as their home licensing state?
Nonresident licensees who are in compliance with their resident state’s continuing education requirements shall be exempt from completing Texas CE requirements.
What are the TXDOI CE course topic groups?
There are only two topic groups, "General" and "Ethics/Consumer Protection". You may complete any TX CE approved course to satisfy your CE requirements - regardless of your License type. There is no limit to the number of ethics courses taken. Excess hours (beyond 2-hours) will be applied to the General total.
What are the TXDOI rules on repeating courses?
If you take a course more than once in the same license period, you will get credit only once.Duplicate credits may not be carried forward. Courses may be repeated in different license periods for credit. You will not receive credit for courses completed prior to your license issue date. No CE credits are awarded for completion of a Pre-licensing Course.
To avoid duplicating efforts, always check the course number of the course you intend to enroll in and compare it with your transcript at http://www.sircon.com/texas
Course numbers for approved CE courses are always unique to the provider offering the course. Even if the title of the course you are considering looks familiar, if you haven’t taken the course previously with AE21 Online, you won’t be repeating the course.
What are the TXDOI rules on CE carry-over hours?
Excess hours earned in a reporting period may not be carried forward into the next reporting period.
Must all CE requirements be completed before an adjuster can file for renewal of their Texas license?
Adjusters may renew their Texas license online within 90 days of their renewal date without completing all of the 30 CE hours required. However, all CE must be completed by 11:59 PM on the day before the actual license renewal date to avoid fine or penalty.
Does the TXDOI provide for exemptions and/or extensions of time for a Licensee to complete CE?:
Exemptions and extensions are possible under very limited circumstances. The key to an extension being granted is proper documentation of a circumstance described in the rule that is beyond the licensee's control. Examples might be long term illness, and military service in a theater of war. Reasons related to business or work load are never acceptable. Documentation is also important when claiming an exemption from continuing education if our records do not show current eligibility.
Does the TXDOI provide for a CE grace period?
Other than the exemptions listed above, there is no continuing education "grace period". Once the expiration date has passed, a violation exists. CE cannot be made up after the expiration date. The fine for not doing the required continuing education is $50 per deficient hour. Call 512.322.3503 for a payment voucher to accompany your payment, which will clear the violation.
Can I fulfill all of my Texas CE requirements by completing online “Classroom Equivalent” or “Self Study” and Courses?
Yes. At least 15 hours must be accrued by taking “classroom-equivalent” online courses. The remaining Fifty (50%) percent of the continuing education requirement may be completed through “self-study” courses (either correspondence or online). This means that, as long as the courses are either “classroom-equivalent” or “self-study”, 100% of a Texas adjuster’s CE requirement may be done online.
What are the Final Examination Requirements?
Online “Classroom Equivalent” Courses do not require a final examination. However, they do contain several interactive inquiry periods throughout the course which consist of five multiple choice questions in which the student must score a 70% or higher to advance to the next Chapter. During the inquiry periods, licensees may use course materials or personal notes, but may not use another person's notes, answers, or otherwise receive assistance in answering the questions from another person. Students are allowed unlimited retakes if you don’t pass the first time.
Online “Self-Study” Courses: The TXDOI requires that all Self-Study courses must include a final examination for students to receive credit. Our exams consist of 10 multiple choice questions for each hour of credit the course if approved for. CE credits will only be allowed if the student receives a grade of 70% or higher. During the examination, licensees may use course materials or personal notes, but may not use another person's notes, answers, or otherwise receive assistance in answering the questions from another person. Students are allowed unlimited retakes if you do not pass the first time.
Neither the completion of “Classroom Equivalent” or “Self-Study” programs require a proctor.
How are my CE course completion reported to the TXDOI?
Reporting course completions is the CE provider’s responsibility. We will be notified immediately after you signoff and we will file your CE electronically with the Sircon.
Will I receive a Certificate of Completion from AE21 upon completing a course?
Yes. At the conclusion of the online course you will have an opportunity to print your Certificate of Completion.
Does the TXDOI provide online access to my license and CE status/transcript?
Texas adjusters can now view their current CE credits, update their e-mail address, request a letter of certification, renew or apply for their license and find their Texas license number or National Producer number at "Agent/Adjuster Electronic Licensing Services" link. Agent/adjusters can also activate a free ProducerEDGE account allowing them to manage their licenses with ease.
What if the FAQ’s do not address my question/issue?
The TXDOI provides an FAQ link that covers additional information @ http://www.tdi.texas.gov/licensing/agent/agfaq.html
If you still have a question, feel free to call us at 1-855-985-2672 or 1-800-820-4550. If we can’t answer your question we will refer you to someone who can.
How can I contact the Texas Department of Insurance (TXDOI)?
TXDOI Phone#: 512-322-3503
TXDOI Website: www.tdi.texas.gov
TXDOI Agent/Adjuster Email: License@tdi.state.tx.us
TXDOI Contact Information: www.tdi.texas.gov/webinfo/contactus.html
TXDOI Mailing Address Texas Department of Insurance:
Agent and Adjusting Licensing
Mail Code 107-1A
Austin, TX 78711-2069